Showing posts with label house. Show all posts
Showing posts with label house. Show all posts

Monday, August 24, 2009

Catching Up

Ugh, I've realised that I'm really bad at catching up with people. I've spent the past few months virtually living in a cave, as far as my social life is concerned. I used to have the excuse of being too busy, long distance, illness etc. etc. but all that does is separate me from my friends even more. Not good.

I've made amends so far this month. I've been good and sociable three times so far:
  1. I went and saw my ex-US friends at their new house in Warragul. They had only lived in the house for a couple of weeks, and apologised for the mess. HA HA HAAAH!!! My standards for "mess" are WAAAY higher than yours, guys... You need to come see MY house. Especially MY room. (...btw, any luck naming the kitten yet?)
  2. I finally got around to visiting my ex-housemates who now live in Boolarra. They'd moved towns, and I was so far out of the loop I didn't hear about it until about four months after it had happened. #0_0# Their new place is beautiful and spacious, and is perfect for raising their two kids - once they get all of their electrical problems sorted out. And it's so nice and quiet out in the country. Only thing was, I also got to see how close to the town the bushfires came. VERY close indeed.
  3. Aaand... I got to meet up with friends at the GippsTAFE Vis. Art Dept's art show! It was good to (briefly) chat with some familiar faces, even though it was so noisy and crowded inside the gallery you could hardly make out what people were saying; and my voice doesn't travel well in the best circumstances! I also bought a painting by one of my friends, but I haven't collected it yet...
So, I've been a good young man so far - but it's not over yet. I still need to deliver some very late Easter stuff to some other friends of mine, and also go to the Salvador Dali exhibition with some other interested pals. Don't worry - I'm gonna do it, already, just gotta get organised...

Wednesday, November 19, 2008

New News...

Hey folks!
Stuff has been happening since the last post. (But then it usually does.)

I got a haircut the other day. It cost me $10. o_O;
I feel happier knowing my head is not weighed down with useless hair. I like to keep it nice and short, so I don't have to worry about it being a mess all the time.
When my hair is short, it looks nice and straight, but, as soon as it starts to get a bit of length, it suddenly (overnight!) gets all curly and unruly... and that is about when I decide to get it trimmed back again.
Seriously, I hate my hair. At least, when it gets too long...

My Ma is laying down a new floor covering at her house.
It's a fake wood-panel effect, made of actual wood panels (but the manufactured, printed-on type). It's a huge difference from the worn out grey carpet they used to have!
The only problem is... we aren't allowed to wear shoes on it any more. groan
I respect their decision, but can see some problems with this logic:
  1. Floors are made for WALKING on. Not for LOOKING at.
  2. Not everyone has nice smelling feet.
  3. Hard, polished floors + slippery cotton socks = "Help! I've fallen and I can't get up!"
Still, I guess it would be nice to keep the floor looking good for as long as possible... and it does make the house look much better!

The third bit of news? Krissy has a new blog!
http://stayawhilehavesomecake.blogspot.com/
It's been added to the list at right. Check it out and say hello if you like!

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Work...?

Uuuaahhh...

Just when I thought I was out of the frying pan...

Work has come back to annoy me again. We're really struggling with the thinly-spread staff at the moment. Long story short, I will be working a lot of hours after this Wednesday.

I hope we get some new staff soon, because I (and most of the others at work) really do NOT want to keep doing this.

Also, we have a house inspection this week. Must tidy, tidy, tidy...
It's probably way overdue. There were some pretty big dust-bunnies under my desk! Eyeww.